How One Up Marketing uses NewsRadars

December 7, 2007 at 6:28 pm | Posted in Blog | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

Ever feel like you just can’t keep up with all the news in your industry? Ever find yourself caught off guard by some big event you should have known about, but somehow missed? This used to happen to me all the time.

At one point, I was following over 600 blogs in the hopes of staying on top of my industry (being marketing). See, I’m with the marketing agency One Up Marketing. (My name is Mario, by the way, and I work with RadarFarms.) We specialize in web startups and virtual worlds, both of which have very active communities. It’s next to impossible to follow it all.

A few months ago, when we first met RadarFarms, we created our first ever News Radar. To be frank, I didn’t know what to expect. I’d never heard of newsmastering, and RSS mashups didn’t strike me as all that interesting at the time.

Since that time, life has gotten much easier. Instead of starting my day with a few hours of skimming thousands of blog posts, I now spend a few minutes glancing at our News Radar. It’s great. See, the problem was that those 600+ blogs didn’t all write exclusively on topics that interested me. But I had to follow them because sometimes they did, and I didn’t want to miss out.

With RadarFarms’ News Radars, I was able to specify what I was interested in. Now, only the stuff that’s relevant to me comes my way.

It gets even better though.

Since I’d learned to become the master of my news, I was wondering if I could share that with people. I’d created a great portal to all the news that was fit to my interests, so why not share that (and get credit for it)?

RadarFarms created this wonderful widget for me. You can see it here, under “Latest News from the Metaverse”. Now, our website (which hosts a monthly magazine) has fresh daily content, attracting visitors without my having to do a thing.

In short, RadarFarms has taken the work out of reading and spreading the news. It’s my news, my way.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

